First female FGCU president, Aysegul Timur, officially installed

January 16th, 2024

By WGCU Staff - WGCU

Dr. Aysegul Timur was installed Friday as the fifth, and first female president of Florida Gulf Coast University.

The ceremony was held on campus at Alico Arena and included three of the university’s former presidents — Dr. Roy E. McTarnaghan, Dr. Wilson G. Bradshaw and Dr. Michael V. Martin — area dignitaries, FGCU students, faculty and administrators.

Timur was selected to become Florida Gulf Coast University’s fifth president on May 4, 2023, following a unanimous endorsement from the FGCU Board of Trustees. Her presidency was confirmed by the Florida Board of Governors on June 22, 2023.

She became president on July 1, 2023, following the retirement of President Mike Martin.

Read more at WGCU.

Watch the installation on YouTube.

Economic Development Director Dave Gammon speaks about President Timur.