Charlotte County has twenty area colleges and universities within driving distance offering undergraduate and master degree programs in the arts, sciences, engineering, nursing and medicine. Florida SouthWestern State College resides within the Charlotte County limits.

Florida SouthWestern College is launching several new programs in the Fall of 2024:

Charlotte County also boasts two technical schools

The Charlotte County Public School System consists of 4 high schools, 4 middle schools, and 10 elementary schools.


Charlotte County also hosts a number of private elementary and secondary education schools. Information regarding these schools can be found at the Florida Schools Choice web site. Complete information regarding all aspects of education in the State of Florida can be found at the Florida Department of Education web site.

Charlotte County’s Educational Attainment is considered high, with 27% of the population having a bachelor’s degree or higher and 32% having an associates degree or some college education.

Students of Charlotte Technical College’s Airframe and Powerplant Certification Program



Ave Maria University Naples
Barry University Fort Myers
Eckerd College St. Petersburg
Everglades University Sarasota
Florida Gulf Coast University Fort Myers
Florida SouthWestern State College Punta Gorda/Fort Myers
Hillsborough Community College Tampa
Hodges University Fort Myers/Naples
Lake Erie College of Osteopathic Medicine & School of Pharmacy Bradenton
Keiser University Sarasota, Fort Myers
New College of Florida Sarasota
Southwest Florida College (now Southern Technical College) Port Charlotte
Rasmussen University Ft. Myers/Tampa
Ringling College of Art and Design Sarasota
State College of Florida Venice/Sarsota/Bradenton
St. Petersburg College St. Petersburg
University of South Florida Sarasota-Manatee North Port/Sarasota
University of South Florida Tampa
University of Tampa Tampa